Time to get blogging move on!

4

March 12, 2013 by seriousbacon

O5217758-326713-pig-chef-cartoonK, so i haven’t blogged in a while, I made a promising start and then kinda let it go just before christmas! Some of the reasons being that i was busy at work(chefing during the christmas period is pretty err hectic!)… and also i had a broken laptop! (£130 later and im up and running again, woei! :D)

But not to worry I’m back, and with some fresh ideas and a new found enthusium! (apparently its key :P),

So as far as the direction i want my blog to follow, I have a few ideas. I plan to be posting at least every 3 days depending on how busy i am, but ideally i would like to be pushing it on a bit more. I plan to be posting some more recipes, using seasonal ingrediants, both Mains and Desserts (no more resolutions.or excuses, its march already!).

I also plan on doing a Howto guide, giving you tips and tricks on things i have picked up as an apprentice chef (Don’t worry I’ll still be learning with you along the way!), The Howto guides will be accompanied by a related Recipe for you to get your hands on! i also plan to be profiling some of the worlds best restaurants so look out for that!

As well as this i will be posting some more of my views on any funny or interesting news stories that i find on the world of the internet for you to enjoy!

Well I hope you enjoyed my ramblings, Feel free to give me a like or to comment below, any feedback or ideas would be welcome!

Muchas Gracious Jake

4 thoughts on “Time to get blogging move on!

  1. I like your plan, Jake, and I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

    I have a confession. The WordPress gurus put out these daily challenges (usually writing). One of them was to find a blogger who was new to you and from a group of bloggers you don’t normally follow. You were to comment on their blog, and try to draw them into conversing with you. I picked you, one other chef, and a person who does crafting types of things. You were the only one to answer my questions and chat with me. I’m glad you did, and I’m glad you’re back. 🙂

    • seriousbacon says:

      Hi Maddie, Thanks for the feedback! that’s a good idea, I realize that its important to reply to every comment if I’m to grow!

      I was wondering if you had any tips for me as a new blogger to help build my audience (I realize it takes time) but I’ve only received nine views today which is actually my best yet, I’m trying to comment on as many other blogs as possible to try draw some exposure from that, but apart from that I’m pretty unsure as to howto go about it, I don’t understand any of the SEO stuff that you find on Google as regards to advertising 😀

      As well as this I’m looking to build a new headline banner for my blog but again no idea howto go about it (the one on your site is pretty awesome). Any little tips or ideas would be Hugely appreciated! and thanks for the support! Jake

      • Hi Jake! I do have some ideas. The one thing you don’t want to do is drop likes all over the place in the hopes people will just come over to see who you are. Some of that works, but there are bloggers here at WP who put likes EVERYWHERE, and then you check them out, and they rarely follow you back or engage in any way; it’s all a numbers game to them, and everyone dreads seeing their avatars.

        I used this link when I was searching for a chef to follow: http://wordpress.com/#!/read/topics/ Search topics you are interested in, find blogs that look appealing to you, leave likes on posts you truly like, and comment when you feel like jumping in. You will build relationships, and people will follow. It’s the number one way to build a following.

        I admit to being completely freaked out by blogging when I first started. Now I’m sort of fearless. 🙂 I have a couple of posts that make fun of me, but they have some good ideas in them:

        Getting more traffic –
        http://breezybooksblog.wordpress.com/2012/09/23/12-tips-how-to-get-more-traffic-to-your-blog/

        Improving your blog posts –
        http://breezybooksblog.wordpress.com/2012/09/08/do-you-want-to-kill-your-blog-posts2/

        As for your blog header, I do like what you’ve done here, but if you want to brand yourself, you could consider paying the $19.99 for the chef ninja and use it in your header and as your avatar – or something else that you like – maybe a pig (bacon) chef. It’s worth it to have something that identifies your blog as you move around WP — especially if you’re not going to use a clear picture of your face. It was kind of a fluke that I started using my character of Susan Hunter for my avatar, but it works.

        I’ll stop so I don’t overwhelm you. Hope some of this helps. Feel free to delete this after you go through the information. I see you are filleting sea bass, but I will still leave the fish fillet work to my husband. 😉

  2. seriousbacon says:

    Hi Maddie, I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to help me out! I will certainly take time to read them and put them into action, thanks for the continued support, Jake

Leave a Reply

Ill be posting some Stunning starters, Mouthwatering mains, and some Tantalizing puds! Along with secret chefs recipes, I will be Profiling some of the worlds best restaurants and providing you with some handy howto guides! What more could you want? Follow SeriousBacon!

Enter your email address to recieve my newest posts by email!

Join 300 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Brightlingsea with @hannahhroseerix 🙌🏼 #beach #chilling #thatshoweedo Rollercoaster Reaturant, where all of your food gets delivered to you! So cool #rollercoasterrestaurant #altontowers @hannahhroseerix Alton towers 🎢🎢🎢🎢🎢🎢. #themepark #altontowers #rollercoasters #thebigsix @hannahhroseerix Galactica, Alton Towers 🎢🎢👌👌 #rollercoaster #altontowers #sosogood Cromer #norfolk #seaside #summer #sun Me on a Boat vs a very low Bridge... let the battle commence!! #onaboat #thebridgewon #iowethousandsofpounds #jokes #imabadmanboatman #thuglife @hannahhroseerix my amazing copilot #whatyougonnadoaboutit Lovely day in Cromer with @hannahhroseerix #Cromer #Norfolk #Dayout #sun #beach Yarmouth beach #seaside #beach #truefact #itisgreathere #lifegoals
