Seabass with a pesto risotto

8

June 24, 2013 by seriousbacon

photo (16)So I’ve been pretty busy with work this week, But on my day off i managed to cook myself a really nice lunch, I went to the local fishmongers and picked up a nice fresh sea bass, which the fishmonger informed me, had only been caught only the day before!

I bought it as a whole fish, so i had to do the filleting myself, which is not as complex as it seems, check out one of my earlier posts on how to fillet a seabass if you want some tips! Once  the seabass was filleted, I started with the pesto risotto, a fine accompaniment to the seabass, i finished the rest of the dish with a handful of fresh cherry tomatoes and a ruby chard salad, The risotto worked so well with this dish, and it was truly an exceptional dish to eat, and i finished every last mouthful of it!

Stay tuned for some more SeriousBacon posts, I have a few ideas in the pipeline that i hope you will enjoy! In the Meantime, here’s a recipe for a pesto risotto to get you started;

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 250g arborio risotto rice
  • Good splash of white wine
  • 850ml fresh vegetable stock, hot
  • Finely grated zest of 1/2 lemon, plus wedges to serve
  • 4 tbsp green or red pesto
  • 40g vegetarian Parmesan, grated, plus extra shavings to serve
  • 8 large field or flat chestnut mushrooms

METHOD

How to make pesto and lemon risotto

1. Heat the oil in a large frying pan over a medium heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes.

2. Add the rice, stir for 1 minute, then pour in the wine and bubble until evaporated. Add half the stock and simmer, stirring occasionally, for about 8 minutes, until most of the stock has been absorbed.

3. Add the remaining stock and repeat, cooking for a further 10-12 minutes, until the rice is cooked but still has a slight bite to it.

4. Stir in the lemon zest and half the pesto and cook for 1 minute.

5. Remove from the heat, stir in the grated Parmesan and season to taste.

8 thoughts on “Seabass with a pesto risotto

  1. Ebonyivory says:

    Thanks for liking my posts today! This recipe looks delicious, will definitely be giving it a go! All the best 🙂

    • seriousbacon says:

      Thanks, you have a nice blog! If you ever try a lemon tart recipe out, this is the one, It truly tastes spectacular! Let me know how you get on if you test it out 😀

  2. Canadianadia says:

    I love the pictures, I am totally a visual person. I like that you take tims to be well fed too. I know couple of chefs and their fridges at home were making me depressed 😀 All the best with blogging!

    • seriousbacon says:

      I always try to eat some nice food, being a chef has its advantages some times! I’m glad you like my pictures, I like to put a bit of extra effort into making the food look nice, its makes it all the better to eat! Thanks for the comment!

  3. hungryhobby says:

    Hi Jake, thanks for stopping by newbie blog! Your food looks amazing, I especially love the seabass recipes (dietitian approved 🙂 ). I’ve never had it and you make it look amazing! I’ll be an RD soon so I can help with nutrition facts if you ever need them in the future!

    • seriousbacon says:

      I’m glad you like the look of my food! You should definitely try sea bass if you’ve never eaten it before, its delicious! Congrats on almost qualifying, and I’ll keep in touch if i need a few facts, my food is mostly unhealthy though 😀

  4. Cynthia says:

    Okay, wow! I wasn’t hungry before this post but I am now. Very nice.

  5. YellowCable says:

    Looks really good!

Leave a Reply

Ill be posting some Stunning starters, Mouthwatering mains, and some Tantalizing puds! Along with secret chefs recipes, I will be Profiling some of the worlds best restaurants and providing you with some handy howto guides! What more could you want? Follow SeriousBacon!

Enter your email address to recieve my newest posts by email!

Join 300 other followers

Top Posts & Pages

Brightlingsea with @hannahhroseerix 🙌🏼 #beach #chilling #thatshoweedo Rollercoaster Reaturant, where all of your food gets delivered to you! So cool #rollercoasterrestaurant #altontowers @hannahhroseerix Alton towers 🎢🎢🎢🎢🎢🎢. #themepark #altontowers #rollercoasters #thebigsix @hannahhroseerix Galactica, Alton Towers 🎢🎢👌👌 #rollercoaster #altontowers #sosogood Cromer #norfolk #seaside #summer #sun Me on a Boat vs a very low Bridge... let the battle commence!! #onaboat #thebridgewon #iowethousandsofpounds #jokes #imabadmanboatman #thuglife @hannahhroseerix my amazing copilot #whatyougonnadoaboutit Lovely day in Cromer with @hannahhroseerix #Cromer #Norfolk #Dayout #sun #beach Yarmouth beach #seaside #beach #truefact #itisgreathere #lifegoals
